R.I.P., Cornelius Bumpus

I initially thought I’d start off my blog with the usual “Hello, World” message so common to the genre. But just as I was about to do that, I received some sad news via e-mail from the Steely Dan fansite: Cornelius Bumpus is dead. Don’t worry if you don’t know who he is. Not many do. But if you’re a Steely Dan fan, then you know that he played sax on a number of the Dan’s albums and toured frequently with the band. In fact, I saw Cornelius play live last summer on SD’s “Everything Must Go” tour. He also played with Etta James and the New York Rock and Soul Review, which featured Steely Dan frontman Donald Fagen. Heart attack, age 52. R.I.P., Cornelius.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

