“Isn’t God a Shit?”

Someone once dared Randolph Churchill, son of Sir Winston, to read the bible. This was apparently the first question out of his mouth after finishing it. Yes, Randolph, God is a shit.

Sorry I’ve been inactive. Keep this one short.

If you don’t already own Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds’ latest double album, “Abbatoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus,” get it. MOJO Mag voted it album of the year last year, with good reason. The song I keep playing over and over again is “There She Goes, My Beautiful World.” I liked the song almost immediately, but was even more gratified when I came across these verses mentioning a number of great poets/writers, including — you guessed it — Philip Larkin:

John Willmot penned his poetry
riddled with the pox
Nabakov wrote on index cards,
at a lectem, in his socks
St. John of the Cross did his best stuff
imprisoned in a box
And JohnnyThunders was half alive
when he wrote Chinese Rocks

Well, me, I’m lying here, with nothing in my ears
Me, I’m lying here, with nothing in my ears
Me, I’m lying here, for what seems years
I’m just lying on my bed with nothing in my head

Send that stuff on down to me
Send that stuff on down to me
Send that stuff on down to me
Send that stuff on down to me

There she goes, my beautiful world
There she goes, my beautiful world
There she goes, my beautiful world
There she goes again

Karl Marx squeezed his carbuncles
while writing Das Kapital
And Gaugin, he buggered off, man,
and went all tropical
While Philip Larkin stuck it out
in a library in Hull
And Dylan Thomas died drunk in
St. Vincent’s hospital

Good stuff, that…

Other news from MOJO? Burt Bacharach is coming out with a new album soon. Who’s producing it? Dr. Dre. I’d love to see Burt revisit some of his classics Gangsta style…”Why do birds…mothafuckin’ appear…every damn time yo ass is near…”

The latest issue of The American Scholar is exhibit A of everything that’s gone wrong it with ever since they forced out Joseph Epstein as editor. A big banner across the front featuring an entire section on the War in Iraq. Can’t I get that over at Foreign Affairs or The Public Interest or New Left Review? I remember when it used to deal with timeless literary essays. I’ve never regretted cancelling my subscription after the Epstein debacle.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

